Our Board Members







Janet Evans, Board President

Term expires April 2021
Janet was elected to the Board in 2009 and is serving her fourth term, along with her eighth year as Board President. She has served on various committees and sub-committees including Community and Governmental Relations, Personnel and Policy, Buildings and Grounds, Pupil Services, Southeastern Wisconsin School Alliance, and Coherence Planning. Janet is currently elected to a 3-year term as a CESA #1 Board of Control member, serving as Treasurer, and is a former City of Franklin alderman.  She is a fourth level WASB Leadership Award recipient, and is Youth Mental Health First Aid certified.
"It's an honor to serve on the Franklin Board of Education, and I'm especially proud to be a citizen of Franklin Public School District, where my children received an excellent public education.  In serving you, I will use sound judgment regarding budgetary issues, including planning for uncertainties in funding for the future, while ensuring high student academic achievement remains a priority. I will strive to keep the best interests of our students, district and community in mind."


TIM Nielson photo






Tim Nielson, Vice President

Term expires April 2020
Tim was elected to the School Board in April 2011 and has been a Franklin resident since 2001. Tim has an accounting and finance background and is President of Popp Dental Supply, LLC located in Greendale.
"Having people put their trust in you enough to vote you onto school board is humbling. I strongly believe in enriching the quality of education while being fiscally responsible, being fair and informed when making crucial decisions regarding district matters and building open communication between the school board and the community."


Linda Witkowski Photo






Linda Witkowski, Treasurer

Term expires April 2020
Linda has been a Board member since 2008. She is currently serving as the Board Treasurer and has also served as the Board Clerk. She has served in a liaison role for Curriculum, Buildings and Grounds, Finance, Personnel and Policy, and Community and Governmental Relations. Her work has resulted in changes in both the Board and Superintendent annual evaluations as a way to continuously improve. Her work has also included in participation in committee work to review and recommend the 2012-2015 District Information and Technology Plan.
"Being a board member is important to me because it allows me to give back to the community and share my experience as a parent and a citizen. I think public education is important for building a strong community and building the future of our children."


Debbie Larson photo






Debbie Larson, Board Clerk

Term expires April 2022
Debbie has served the Franklin School Board from 2003-present. She has    served as the Chair of the Building and Grounds, Curriculum, Personnel and Policy and Community and Government Relations committees. She has also sat on the Curriculum, Building and Grounds, Personnel and Policy, Community Education/Recreation and Community and Government Relations committees in the past.
"Being a board member is important to me because I have dedicated my adult life to education. I am a life long learner and a teacher. I believe I bring a different perspective to the table as both an educator and a parent. With five children, three of which have graduated and two that are currently enrolled in the district, I only want a world class education for not only my children, but our entire community. This is why I work as a board member."


Larry Gamble photo






Larry Gamble, Member

Term expires April 2021
Larry began serving on the Franklin School Board in February 2017. In 1996, Larry and his family moved to Franklin. His three children all graduated from Franklin Public Schools. Larry graduated with a BS in Business Administration from The Citadel in Charleston, South Carolina. He is a former airline pilot and retired from the military having served 25 years, retiring from the US Air Force in 2008.
“I am very proud of our Franklin public schools and the quality education my own children received. As a new Board member, I welcome citizen input as the Board maintain and improve this exceptional school system. Representing the community, I understand the obligation for careful fiscal oversight along with fairness in decision making while juggling all the requirements to provide a safe, world-class education to the children of our community now and in the future.”


Claude Lewis






Claude Lewis, Member

Term Expires April 2021
Claude has been a member of the Franklin School Board since April 2018. Claude and his wife moved to Franklin in 1986 and all three of his children attended k-12 in Franklin. Claude is currently retired and comes with a background in Human Resources. Claude and has served in positions of HR Global Technology Manager, Corporate Benefits Manager for GE Marquette Medical Systems and for the past 17 years has served as Vice President of Human Resources GA Precision in Franklin.
“The Franklin community is a great place to call home and the school system has provided a strong and solid foundation for my children. I believe it’s of the utmost importance to attract and retain the highest quality faculty and support staff to provide a quality education for all students. Setting high education requirements for our students and providing the tools to foster their growth is essential. In addition, we must ensure a safe and progressive environment within our schools. I look forward to serving on the board.”


Mike Spragg photo






Mike Spragg, Member

Term Expires April 2022
Mike is the newest member of the Franklin School Board, having joined in April, 2019. He and his wife Elizabeth have lived in Franklin since 2007 and their two daughters are students in the Franklin School District. Mike served two years as president and two years as vice president of the Country Dale PTO. He is also a Director for the WGA-Evans Scholar Foundation, the country's largest privately funded scholarship program.  
"We decided to move to Franklin instead of other suburbs largely because the schools are so good here. I am humbled that voters put trust in me to serve on the school board and I will do my best to offer fairness, transparency, and open dialogue between the school administration and the community."