The Franklin Public Schools assessment system operates on three interconnected levels:
  1. Large scale standardized tests that include state and federal accountability testing.
  2. District level assessments to measure student growth and learning.
  3. Classroom level assessments for grading and formative purposes.
  4. Assessment results are regularly analyzed for specific purposes that range from program evaluation to individual student performance, growth, and programming eligibility.

Federal & State Accountability Testing

The Franklin Public School District administer the following assessments for the purpose of state and federal accountability:

  1. Wisconsin Forward Exam at grades 3-8 in English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics.
  2. Dynamic Learning Maps (DLM) at grades 3-11 in ELA and Mathematics, and at grades 4 and 8 -11 in Science.
  3. ACT Aspire at grades 9 & 10.
  4. The ACT Plus Writing at grade 11 for Reading, English, Mathematics, Science, and Writing.
  5. ACT WorkKeysat grade 11.
  6. ACCESS for ELLS (varies).
  7. Phonological Awareness Literacy Screener (PALS) in grades K-2.
  8. Wisconsin Forward Exam at grades 4, 8, and 10 in Science and Social Studies.

District Level Assessments

The Franklin Public School District administers the following assessments to measure continuous growth and learning:

  1. The MAP test in grades 1-9 in Reading, Math, and Language.
  2. The CogAT in grade 3.

Classroom Assessments

The Franklin Public School District values assessments for learning at the individual classroom level. For more information on individual classroom assessments, please click HERE.